Janus Descending

The Story

Janus Descending is a limited series, science fiction/horror audio drama told through single perspective narration. The story follows the arrival of two xenoarcheologists, Peter and Chel,  on a small world orbiting a binary star. But what starts off as an expedition to survey the planet and the remains of a lost alien civilization, turns into a monstrous game of cat and mouse, as the two scientists are left to face the creatures that killed the planet in the first place. Told from alternating perspectives, Janus Descending is an experience of crossing timelines, as Peter describes the nightmare from end to beginning, and Chel, from beginning to the end.

Content Warning: Janus Descending is a horror narrative aimed at a mature audience, and as such, may contain material that is upsetting or triggering for certain people. This audio drama includes harsh language, moments of high suspense/terror, body horror/gore (i.e. descriptions of feeling things moving under one's skin, hallucinations of body dysmorphia, broken bones, etc.), character experiencing trauma-induced psychological breakdowns (sensory and physical hallucinations), moments of extreme physical violence, and honest to god monsters. Please also note that while there is no sexual action in Janus Descending (kissing, sex, rape, etc), there are brief moments where characters make commentary of a perverse sexual nature. Content warnings will be attached in the show notes of every episode, and episodes that are expected to be particularly triggering will also include a verbal warning before the opening.

The Basics

Genre: Science Fiction, Horror, Drama

Series Length: 13 full episodes, 3 prologues, 1 epilogue

Episode Length: approximately 10-20 minutes

Rating: Explicit

You can read articles and reviews of Janus Descending here!